Transitional outfits from Summer to Autumn

Hello September, hello outfits trouble!

September is that period of the year in which I feel like everything is in between Summer and Autumn…well, not actually everything but at least my mood and the temperatures. So, this time I’ve decided to approach this month differently. I’ve selected as transitional four of the main trends/items that were with us during Summer and that are going to stay in Winter also. By combining these I’m sure I’m going to avoid any “transitional outfit trouble”.

Dark Florals Print

I’m definitely not into girly florals, but the dark version it really does suit me. I started loving the dark floral maxi-dresses since the first time I saw the amazing Vetements creation last winter.

Summer version: gladiator sandals black or light brown are the perfect match.

Autumn version: I love these dresses paired with chunky heels ankle boots or even combat boots. Add a leather jacket for a rock vibe or a chunky knit cardigan for a gypsy mood.

Denim on Denim

I would wear denim all over the year…and I actually do! I usually wear denim trousers paired with sneakers or flats during the day and I switch to high heels for the evening.

Summer version: denim shorts with light tops plus comfy flat sandals (I would say almost everything from Adidas Adilette or Birkenstock to Gucci Princeton slides).

Autumn version: denim cropped trousers with contrasting denim shirt always works really well for weekends and off-duty. Add a leather or a tuxedo jacket when temperature goes chilly.

Cropped Trousers

Cropped trousers (culottes or flares) are my new addiction and I’m wearing them from day to night (as you can see also in my post on how to transform an outfit from day to night). I will carry on wearing them regardless of the temperature only by adjusting the shoes.

Summer version: paired with a t-shirt and white Adidas Originals Stan Smith or Superstar.

Autumn version: switch tee with shirt and sneakers with ankle boots (with a nice pair of little socks) and you’re perfectly done.


Trench Coat

The trench coat is one of those timeless pieces that every “good girl” must have. I actually have got two, both Burberry, both beige. One is the classic one, knee length, the other (presenting a younger style) is shorter with 3/4 sleeves. Well, I have use none of them, but, as I said, at least one, is a must (…just in case is needed).

Summer version: throw it on every outfit in case of rain.

Autumn version: I prefer the modern approach of matching the classic trench with jeans and sneakers. Maybe the coming season I will give this option a go.


PS:…an when you think you haven’t got any other inspiration for trench coat, while you sipping your morning coffee, here it comes…see how cool easy and comfy this outfit below looks!!! Definitely it is something I’m gonna try 🙂

2 comments

Leave a Reply

